Primary Science Quality Mark (PSQM )Awards Ceremony – Wednesday 21 November 2018


Primary Science subject leaders from seven different primary schools throughout South East Wales, supported by their school colleagues attended an awards ceremony and professional development day at Cardiff Metropolitan University.  The day was organised by Lisa Fenn, Primary PGCE Lecturer at Cardiff Metropolitan University and PSQM Hub-leader for South East Wales, alongside Dr Sarah Earle, Primary PGCE Senior Lecturer at Bath Spa University and Wales and the West, Senior Hub Leader for PSQM.  The event was funded by Primary Science Teaching Trust (PSTT) and Royal Society Chemistry, (RSC) to celebrate the tremendous achievements that of all of the schools had undertaken in co-ordinating and recording all of the good learning and teaching in science that has taken place in their schools within the last year; this includes working with parents and outside agencies to enhance all of the pupils‘ science, learning experiences.

science pic

The primary schools in attendance today were: St Philip Evans RC,  Hendredenny,  St Fagans,  Litchard, Tongwynlais, Ysgol Pencae and Ysgol Y Wern. The schools were presented with PSQM certificates by Kin Yu, Head of Department for ITE at Cardiff Metropolitan University.  Presenters at the event included: Nigel Jones from New School of Technology, Cardiff Metropolitan University, Llinos Misra from See Science, (Educational and Enrichment Consultancy) Dayna Mason from RSC,  Liz Berry (Deputy headteacher) of Thornhill Primary school and Dr Sarah Earle co-author of TAPS Cymru; who gave an update  on resources available from TAPS Cymru: the Teacher Assessment in Primary Science project which began its work in Wales in collaboration with Cardiff Met in 2017-8.14 and 15 of the award.   PSQM was founded 10 years ago at University of Hertfordshire (UH) and the schools were from Round 14 and 15.

The Primary Science Quality Mark (PSQM) is a highly successful, unique award programme to develop and celebrate the profile of science teaching, learning and leadership in primary schools. Science subject leaders join a local PSQM hub and are supported by professional development to achieve the Primary Science Quality awards, of which there are three different awards to ensure that all schools can achieve the accreditation.  The three awards are: Primary Science Quality Mark, Primary Science Quality Mark Gilt or Primary Science Quality Mark Outreach.  Primary Science Quality Marks’ provide a framework for improvement and development in leadership and provision, whatever the starting point.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s